Doctorate in building science not only provides an opportunity contributing to the specific fields in science and technology as relevant and applicable to architectural knowledge and practice, but also the framework to train future academics and researchers. The required must courses are aimed to establish a research frame of mind while elective courses address the specific areas of interest that Ph.D candidates wish to develop further. A great majority of Ph.D students being either junior lecturers or interested in academic career, the Department emphasizes research and education.

A total of 9 courses, of which 3 compulsory and 6 elective courses approved by the Building Science Program, should be taken by the students. In total, a minimum of 24 METU credits must be taken. The list of the compulsory courses of the program are as follows:

Couse Code Course Name METU Credit ECTS Credit
ARCH615 Architectural Research I 6 14
BS600 PhD Thesis in Building Science 0 130
BS601 Seminar in Building Science 0 10